Festival + Symposium Blog
ISEA2006 Symposium
ZeroOne San Jose Festival
Workshops + Tours
Press Center
Contact Us
ZeroOne San Jose / ISEA2006 ISEA2006 symposium
The ISEA2006 Symposium PDF Print E-mail
Written by Steve Dietz   
Mar 04, 2006 at 10:07 PM

The 2006 edition of the internationally renowned ISEA Symposium will be held August 7-13, 2006, in San Jose, California in conjunction with the inauguration of ZeroOne San Jose: A Global Festival of Art on the Edge, a milestone festival to be held biennially.

The 13th International Symposium on Electronic Art (ISEA2006) focuses on the critical, theoretical and pragmatic exploration of four important themes: Transvergence, Interactive City, Community Domain and Pacific Rim.

What tactics, issues and conceptual practices expose or inform the distinctions of these subject terrains relating to contemporary art practice? What analyses illuminate art practice engaged with new technical and conceptual forms, functions and disciplines; provide for innovative tactical implementations of cultural production involving urbanity, mobility, community and locality; examine the roles and responsibilities of corporations, civic and cultural organizations, discuss strategic and economic planning as it relates to creative community; serve to expose new portals of production and experience; provide for interpretive bridges between cultures and identities; and provide for provocative examination of contemporary political and economic conditions? How is new media art practice re-shaping the world?

The ISEA2006 Symposium is an international platform for artists, cultural producers, media theorists, curators and the general public to share the latest ideas and practices involving new media. Enabling discourse across disciplines, ideologies and philosophical frameworks is an important objective as is the facilitation of discussion and conversation. Audience participation is facilitated through expanded moderated sessions, an afternoon Poster Session/Reception and through an on-line forum featuring the pre-published abstracts and papers.

ISEA2006 Symposium Director: Steve Dietz
ISEA2006 Symposium Chair: Joel Slayton
ISEA2006 Symposium Producer: Michella Rivera-Gravage
ISEA2006 Symposium Assistant: Kuniko Vroman


The Inter-Society for Electronic Arts (ISEA) is an international non-profit organization fostering interdisciplinary academic discourse and exchange among culturally diverse organizations and individuals working with art, science and emerging technologies. Every two years, currently, cities bid to host ISEA's International Symmposium on Electronic Art. Prior host cities include Helsinki, Paris, Sydney, Montreal, Chicago, Manchester, and Nagoya.

International Program Committee (IPC)

International Program Committee responsible for evaluation of Papers, Artists Presentations and Posters Sessions includes:

Co-Chairs: Joel Slayton, Steve Dietz

Alex Adriaansens
Rosanne Alstatt
Peter Anders
Irina Aristarkhova
Inke Arns
Sue Ballard
Jonathan Berger
Julian Bleecker
Josephine Bosma
Chris Byrne
Danny Butt
Chris Chesher
Wendy Chun
Steve Cisler
Michael Conner
Nina Czegledy
Sharon Daniel
Jesse Drew
Trine Eidsmo
Colin Fallows
Mary Flannagan
Alex Galloway
Brian Goldfarb
Beryl Graham
Michael Grey
Mark Hansen
Susan Hapgood
Nik Hafermaas
Gustaff Harriman
Drew Hemment
David Henry
Tom Holley
Kathy Rae Huffman
Erkki Huhtamo
Jon Ippolito
Lisa Jevbratt
Alice Ming Wai Jim
Susan Kennard
Eric Kluitenberg
Rob van Kranenburg
Julie Lazar
Geroge Legrady
Ramon E.S. Lerma
Chip Lord
Geert Lovink
Roger Malina
Pedro Meyer
Maggie Morse
Diane Mullin
Ulla-Maria Mutanen
Gunalan Nadarajan
Iliyana Nedkova
Robert Nidefer
Valentina Nisi
Sally Jane Norman
Randall Packer
Christiane Paul
Eric Paulos
Mike Philips
Melinda Rackham
Casey Reas
Scott Robinson
Ned Rossiter
Maria Rosussou
Eddie Shanken
Shirley Shor
Rejane Spitz
Carol Stakenas
Mirjam Struppek
Eduardo Villanueva
Bruce Wands
Ken Wark

Symposium Host Committee

The Symposium Host Committee responsible for advising on operational frameworks and structures includes:

Co-Chairs: Joel Slayton, Steve Dietz

Jonathan Berger
Natalie Bookchin
Geoffrey Bowker
Danny Butt
Amanda McDonald Crowely
Tim Druckery
Ken Goldberg
Lynn Hershman
Rob van Kranenburg
Maggie Morse
Gunalan Nadarajan
Sally Jane Norman
Marisa Olson
Narendra Pachkhede
Christiane Paul
Eric Paulos
Haun Saussy
Trebor Scholz
Carol Stakenas
Eddo Stern
Mark Tribe
Victoria Vesna
Steve Wilson

Symposium Forum

A Symposium Forum involving renown renowned scholars, artists, new media theorist, cultural organization directors, conference chairs and curators explored strategy and structures for ISEA2006 in response to the themes. Participants included:

Co-Chairs: Joel Slayton, Steve Dietz

Alex Adriaansens
Peter Anders
Andreas Broeckmann
Danny Butt
Steve Cisler
Amanda McDonald Crowley
Nina Czegledy
Sara Diamond
Ken Goldberg
Honor Harger
Joichi Ito
Doug Kahn
Patrick Lichty
Kim Machan
Tapio Makela
Lev Manovich
Jose-Carlos Mariategui
Gunalan Nadarajan
Marisa Olson
Christiane Paul
Julianne Pierce
RAQS Media Collective
Ana Serano
Trebor Scholz
Rejane Spitz
Carol Stekenas
Gerfried Stocker
Mark Tribe
Last Updated ( Jul 17, 2006 at 10:11 PM )
<Previous   Next>